Vandy Wins Final Stage / Bevin Takes NRS Lead

Vandy wins the final stage to make it 3 from 4.

Avanti Racing Team’s Paddy Bevin finished what he started yesterday winning the Tour of Adelaide, the second event of the 2015 NRS. Having lead the race from the first stage Bevin finished 4th in the final stage after a super lead out for teammate Neil Van Der Ploeg who took a comfortable sprint win in the 82km Kermesse around Newton.

The final stage was all about holding the yellow jersey and ensuring that Neil held his 3rd position overall. Smart racing by the boys saw them represented in every significant break. This allowed them a free ride in defence of Paddy’s lead while the rest of the boys rode the front and kept everything in check. A early crash took Cam Karwowski out meaning we lost one of our biggest weapons but the boys adjusted and shared the load.

Winning Team

Winning Team

In the final laps a late break involving usual suspects Ben Hill (Charter), Raphael Frinstein (Charter), Oliver Kent-Spark (Search) and Pat (the policeman) Shaw. Their horsepower and collective will meant and organised chase would be necessary but African Wildlife Safaris were quickly on to the front desperate to give their fastman Michael Schweizer a chance at victory. Into the final lap the break was caught and the sprint trains of Charter, AWS and us started jostling for position. Out of the final corner Paddy Bevin was first in to view with Vandy in tow. Neil took off with 150m to go and won comfortably while Paddy still managed to drift through in 4th.

The final wrap up saw the team collect 3 stage wins, finish 1st,2nd, 3rd and 5th on general classification and win the teams. Paddy Bevin now leads the NRS while Avanti is back on top in the teams ranking. Great team effort. As always thanks to our awesome staff, sponsors and supporters. #teamworkwinsraces

Adelaide NRS Leader
check out our power files




Stage four results
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Neil Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Avanti 1:46:45
2 Michael Schweizer (Ger) African Wildlife Safaris
3 Angus Tobin (Aus)
4 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Avanti  
5 Alex Frame (NZl) Mobius Future Racing
6 Ryan Thomas (Aus) Data#3 Symantec
7 Russell Gill (Aus) Wormall CCS
8 Lachlan Holliday (Aus) Team Seight
9 Brad Evans (NZl) Pat’s Veg Cycling
10 Patrick Shaw (Aus) Avanti  


Final general classification
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Avanti 7:14:41  
2 Matthew Clark (Aus) Avanti 0:00:43  
3 Neil Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Avanti 0:00:51  
4 Raphael Freienstein (Ger) CharterMason Giant
5 Patrick Shaw (Aus) Avanti  
6 Adam Bull (NZl) Subaru Albion
7 Guy Kalma (Aus) Otoc Vault
8 Jack Bobridge (Aus) Budget Forklifts
9 Brodie Talbot (Aus) Budget Forklifts 0:00:53
10 Patrick Lane (African Wildlife Safaris) 0:01:15